On its purely musical merit the Sleaping Beauty with its symphonic compositonal style stands as Tchaikovsky's gratest triumph amonghis scores for the dance. This legendary 1955 telecast from the Producersí Showcase television series presented Margot Fonteyn, Michael Somes, and Frederick Ashton in the Sadlerís Wells (Royal Ballet)
Disc No: VAI 4295
Price: Sek. 340
Name: Tchaikovsky
  The Sleeping Beauty

Order   Stock?   Index

System Regional Code Picture format Sound format Subtitles Length
  0 4:3 B&W Mono   66 min.

Composer Name Opus Key Performer
Tchaikovsky, Pjotr The Sleeping Beauty     Princess Aurora - Margot Fonteyn
Prince Florimund - Michael Somes
The Lilac Fairy - Beryl Grey
Carabosse - Frederick Ashton
The Bluebird - Brian Shaw
Princess Florine - Rowena Jackson
Sadlerís Wells Royal Ballet - Robert Irving

Toccata, July 2008 Webmaster