Toccata Classics
Disc No: TOCC 0087
Price: Sek. 81
Name: Vuori Symphonies
  Nos. 1 and 2

Like many contemporary composers, Harri Vuori (born in Lahti, Finland, in 1957) approached the symphony with some hesitation. But having taken the plunge, Vuori has expertly married his modernist’s palette of colours with an awareness of symphonic architecture to create two very different works, the First (2003) in the traditional four-movement form and the Second (2007) in a grand arch of five linked movements - Vuori’s virtuoso handling of the orchestra producing music that shimmers with light and heaves with energy.
Order   In stock ?

ComposerOpusMusicKey Performer
Vuori, Harri (1957- ) Symphony No. 1   Hyvinkää Orchestra - Tuomas Pirilä, Conductor
Vuori, Harri Symphony No. 2  

Toccata, October 2008 Webmaster