Peteris Vasks agitates in his work against the situation in his country. “When I think about modern life, it is impossible to not realize that we are balancing on the edge of the end of time.” They are heavy themes that motivate Vasks’ music – in his string quartets, too. In his first three string quartets the transformation is clearly perceptible from the direct sources of his inspiration to an abstraction of his worry and suffering.
Disc No:CC 72365
Price: Sek. 145
Name: Peteris Vasks
 String Quartets

Order         In stock?
Vasks, Peteris String Quartet no. 3 (1995)
Navarra Quartet
Vasks, Peteris String Quartet no. 2 Summer Tunes
Vasks, Peteris String Quartet no. 1 (revised version, 1977-1997)

Toccata, September 2010 Webmaster