Ascension Day belongs to the most prominent feasts related to the life of Christ and therefore required special musical consideration in Bach’s time. “Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen” BWV 11, entitled by Bach “Oratorium Festo Ascensionis Christi”, was first performed on May 19, 1735, whilst “Gott fähret auf mit Jauchzen” BWV 43 first appeared on the 30th of May 1726. The text of this cantata was taken from a cycle of sacred poetry by Ernst Ludwig, Duke of Saxe-Meiningen. The cantata “Auf Christi Himmelfahrt allein” BWV 128 was first performed on 10 May 1725. “Wer da gläubet und getauft wird” BWV 37 was premiered on 18 May 1724.       Challenge Classics on sale

Disc No:CC 72285
Price: Sek. 65
Name: Bach - Ascension Cantatas

Order         In stock?
Bach, Johann Sebastian Cantata 'Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen'
BWV 11      
Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra & Choir - Ton Koopman
Sandrine Piau
Johannette Zomer
Sibylla Rubens
Bogna Bartosz
Bernhard Landauer
James Gilchrist
Christoph Prégardien
Jörg Dürmüller
Klaus Mertens
Bach, Johann Sebastian Cantata 'Gott fähret auf mit Jauchzen'
Bach, Johann Sebastian Cantata 'Auf Christi Himmelfahrt allein'
Bach, Johann Sebastian Cantata 'Wer da gläubet und getauft wird'

Toccata, OCtober 2008 Webmaster